Awards for hospital staff

The efforts of teams at a Norfolk hospital have been celebrated in its annual staff awards.

More than 800 nominations were submitted for the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital event including from patients and families.

Hospital chair Tom Spink said: “We are very proud of our excellent individuals and teams at our hospitals and are delighted to recognise those who go above and beyond to help patients and colleagues, along with those who have given so much of their lives to our hospitals and to the NHS.”

Anna Haestier, Obstetrics and Gynaecology Consultant, won the individual Patient Choice Award.

A patient who nominated her said: “Miss Haestier supported us through the process of losing a child and was incredibly compassionate and gentle. In my current pregnancy she has consistently shown kindness, compassion and empathy and has been a huge part of our journey as parents. She is fully invested in the care of her women and their families and is an exceptional doctor, and a wonderful person.”

The Patient Choice team award was won by the Acute Oncology Service.

The nominator said: “A cancer diagnosis comes as a complete shock and leaves you needing the very best support. I have been truly lucky to have received exceptional care from my Oncology Consultant and team at the N&N’s Colney Centre. When I had a severe reaction and called the Acute Oncology Service – words cannot express how exceptional the entire service and team were.

“They go out of their way to take the very best care of you and your family. I was able to access treatment daily instead of being an inpatient, which was unbelievably important for wellbeing and recovery. It is an exceptional service given by an exceptional team.”

The awards were supported by the N&N Hospitals Charity, who sponsored two of the awards, Trainee of the Year and Team of the Year.

There were three winners of the Trainee of the Year Award: Olivia Bate, Samantha Brundle and Eleanor Cass.

The Team of the Year Clinical Award was won by the Fluoroscopic Radiographers and the Team of the Year Non-Clinical Award was won by the Data Quality team.

This year’s Edith Cavell Award for outstanding leadership went to Cherry King, Imaging Matron.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were won by John FitzGerald, Head of the Audiology Department; Kay Marrison, Quality Matron; Jackie Mulford, Consultant Secretary and Victoria Tuvey, Senior Phlebotomist.